Tortellini Primavera

11 Jan

Well I figured it had been awhile since I did any cooking on here. So I decided to show you one of our new favorite recipes that I have been using for our new instituted meatless Monday.

1 1/2 cups chicken broth (I use bouillon powder)
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1-2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
6 cloves garlic, sliced
1/2 cup shredded asiago/parm/or whatever kind of cheese you just LOVE
1 tablespoon chopped fresh tarragon, dill or chives or 1 teaspoon dried tarragon (I use dill and some chives)
Salt if you feel you need it but the broth usually does it for us
2-3 carrots cut into bite sized pieces
2 cups broccoli cut into bite sized pieces
2 cups snow peas cut into bite sized pieces
1 16-ounce package frozen/fresh cheese tortellini

I start by washing and cutting up my veggies

20130110-194638.jpg

I tend to par boil the veggies and then set them aside

20130110-195552.jpg

Start a pot of water boiling for you paste about now

Then I dice up some garlic for the sauce

20130110-195732.jpg

As well as some chives

20130110-195810.jpg

Sautée the garlic for a few minutes in olive oil. While that’s going on you re gonna mix your flour and chicken broth together, and pour it into you pan with the garlic. Bring it to a slight boil and cook until it becomes thick, I usually turn it down on low for a bit.

20130110-200009.jpg

At this point you water should be boiling and you can toss your pasta into the water for 5-8 minutes

20130110-200119.jpg

You should be stirring your sauce mixture till it is thick enough to stick to the back of the spoon.

20130110-200242.jpg

Once it is thick and creamy looking add the cheese and dill and chives, mix thoroughly till the cheese is melted and incorporated. You paste should be done so strain it. Then you are gonna dump the veggies and tortellini in and mix it all up.

20130110-200622.jpg

Then enjoy the finished product :)

20130110-200831.jpg

This is the second time we have had this dish since starting this new meatless Monday. It goes over great.
I wish I could take credit for this recipe but I can’t so here is the original for everyone.

I will probably do our other favorite meatless Monday recipe next week for you guys.
Have a great night
Tannith

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers

